My TV Addiction



Reality TV Recap

So here is my short recap on what I thought of the last episodes of Amazing Race, American Idol, The Biggest Loser, Survivor and America’s Next Top Model.

Amazing Race

Talk about a shocking week in reality TV.  I love the cowboys but after they came in last on the last leg I thought unless they got lucky with flights they were probably going to go home.  Not only did they not go home but they managed to come in first!  This was a first in Amazing Race history.  Where they really pulled ahead was when the teams had to choose between balancing these huge poles on their heads and run across a field or carry these large incense poles up over a 100 stairs.  The cowboys whipped out the balancing task with almost no problems and really pulled ahead as every other team had to haul the incense poles up the stairs.

The cops are starting to grow on me so I was fine with them staying.  The lesbians are still really irritating.  I hate their negative attitude.  The father/daughter team were the ones to go home which was sad but I was ok with it.  They were nice but nothing that really grabbed me.

Survivor

So not sure what is up with my DVR but it has not been recording Survivor for the past two weeks.  So both weeks I’ve only caught the last 15-20 minutes after putting my daughter to bed.  I don’t know how it happened but somehow Rob went home last week.  That seemed like the dumbest move the Villains could have made.  I don’t know if it was the thought that a merge was coming up or Russell just got tired of having Rob around and rallied up his alliance.  Either way it seemed like they took a stupid page out of the heroes book and went with alliance’s rather than thinking about winning the next week’s challenge.

So I have to admit I was not surprised to see the Villains lost again this week.  It looks like they had a physical immunity challenge and without Rob surprise, surprise, they lost.  I thought they might have woken up and realize the stupidity of their game play and vote out Courtney instead of another strong player but no they vote out Coach.  Yes, Coach is a nut case but physically he is much stronger than Courtney.  So unless next week is a merge or a puzzle immunity challenge then I see Villains going back to Tribal.

American Idol

Another shocking week in reality tv.  None of the singers really grabbed me this week but I was surprised when Mike and Andrew ended up in the bottom two.  Katie has improved but I still don’t see her at the caliber of the others and how Tim is still there is mind boggling.  When it came down to it I thought Andrew was going to go home since he hasn’t really had a great week since he sang Straight Up.  But nope, it was Michael.  No real surprise that the judges used their save to keep Mike in but now I’m wondering if all hell will break loose next week.  If anyone other than Tim and Katie go home next week it will be a shame.

The Biggest Loser

So if you missed last week’s episode two eliminated contestants are now back in the game.  Vicky, from the blue team, was voted back in by the other house guests because she never really had a chance to ever get in the house.  Melissa made it back in after finishing 1000 steps first.  I was so disappointed to see her back.  I hate her attitude.  She is all about game play instead of losing weight.

She just confirmed this in this week’s episode where Allison tells the contestants that at any point during the week they can try to weigh in and if they lost 2% of their body weight they win immunity.  You only get one chance and once someone does it that is it.  Melissa is talking about strategy and complaining how the other contestants aren’t thinking about the game.  If they were then they would have gotten rid of Sam last week.  Grrr, I wish she would just go home again.

In the end Sam won the immunity although with a 10lb weight loss I doubt he really needed it.  In the end Melissa ended up going home again.  Thank goodness!

America’s Next Top Model

I haven’t really gotten into this season and watch it with only half hearted interest which is why I haven’t really blogged about it before.  I had to give it a mention this week though because it was hilarious seeing the girls interact with Nigel.  They had a task where they had to try and break the ice with him playing the shy male model that they would have to shoot a steamy photo shoot with.  It was just so awkward to see all the girls with him.  Plus Nigel is such a hottie!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Michelle says:

    I was so glad to see the cowboys rise back up to the top. They are definitely my favorite team in the game. Followed closely by the father/daughter duo, I was sad to see them go. I’m still waiting for the two screaming banshees to find the exit, I am hopeful that happens soon!

    I think Survivor is the best it’s been in a long time. The way Russell has navigated that tribe to do what pts him in a perfect place is phenomenal. He’s got that tribe so weak that when he goes into the merge he can align with a few of the other side and they can just pick people off. It’s shaping up to be quite an interesting scenario if he and JT go into cahoots together.

    I figured someone “important” would be the loser in Idol and honestly wasn’t surprised that it was Big Mike at all. I would have been completely shocked if it was Crystal. What I’m not surprised about is that the judges used the save. It’s awful early for it but they definitely didn’t want to lose one of the best performers of the bunch this early. The unfortunate scenario is that now if you get the votes to go you’re out no matter what! I’ll be interested to see where things fall with two going this week.

    The Biggest Loser is exactly how it should have been. Melissa is far too into herself. I wasn’t sad to see her go at all. Such a hypocrite — she can play the game but then when others do and she’s on the losing end it’s all “wrong”. Buh-bye!

    I love me some Nigel, but man that chemistry challenge was painful to watch. Like seriously. I’m not all that in love with this cycle either. Anslee is getting far too annoying and they are clearly setting Alaysia up to be the winner. I don’t like her aggressive attitude and the screaming has got to go. I’ll keep watching peripherally but like you I’m not as into it. If I miss it for a week as long as I know who went I don’t feel at any kind of loss.

    Hope you are doing well!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

