My TV Addiction



America’s Next Top Model September 14

The show opens up with the girls doing their first fashion show.  They had to do a Diane Von Furstenberg fashion show on a catwalk suspended 4 stories up in the air.  For the most part the girls did ok although you could tell a lot of them were freaked out.  Kasey couldn’t wear her glasses so everyone was worried about her but she did well.  I’m not sure why she doesn’t have contacts if she wants to model.  She must have known she couldn’t always be ale to wear her glasses.

Next they had a photo shoot where they had to come up with a word that they were bullied/teased with.  Things like queer, giant, etc.  They had this word painted on their bodies along with an empowering word.  I was amazed that Ann, who just looking at her looks awkward looked awesome when she is all done up.  The other girl that stood out to me was Annamaria due to her attitude and her thinness.  I don’t know how tall she is but she must be at least 5’9″ and she’s only 110lbs.  She even told Jay she’s “trying” to get lean.  When he told her she didn’t need to try to get lean she said she didn’t care what others thought.  She knows what she sees in the mirror.  I think her body is scary thin looking and the fact that she thinks she needs to get “leaner” makes me think she might be anorexic.  Her attitude is totally off-putting as she talks a bout how no one else is competition and she is all that.

Kayla is a lesbian and her word was Queer.  She got very emotional about having that written all over her body but she looked breathtaking!  Her empowering word was Free.

Let me pause and just say here thank goodness Nigel is on the judging panel!  I totally missed him in the premiere.  I don’t know if I could watch without him there.

Anyway, back to the stand out pictures.  Terra was one of the weaker ones to me.  Rhiana’s picture didn’t look that great to me but her look is really interesting.

During the judging Tyra talks to Annamaria about her body because she said in a lot of the pictures her body looks unhealthy.  The judges tell her healthy is better but I think it went in one ear and out the other.

Of all the girls photos I liked Ann the best.  She is the super tall, I think 6’2″, girl who has actually been told she’s too tall to be a model.

The Decision

The first girl called up and best photo is Ann.  Runner up for best photo is Kayla.  Annamaria and Terra are in the bottom two.  I think Terra will go home but Tyra will want to lecture Annamaria about her body.

Tyra tells Annamaria they are afraid of the message her body will send to teenage girls.  And I was wrong!  They send Annamaria home.  Annamaria says unless she gets told by multiple agencies she is too thin she’s not going to change because she likes her body.

My thoughts

I agree that Annamaria’s body type sends a bad message to young girls.  Even if she isn’t anorexic she looks it and I would hate girls to think they have to be that thin to be beautiful.  Ann is the only one that really stands out in my mind so far.  Kayla took a nice picture but she only really stuck with me due to her emotional photo shoot.  What did you think?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Kat says:

    She clearly has issues with food if not a full blown eating disorder… makes me curious as to why they allowed her on the show in the first place..

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 9 months ago
  2. * dsuzuki says:

    I think they had her on so they could talk about how there is such a thing as too thin. Their way of sending a message.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

